Can’t Sleep [demo]

Another make-it-up-as-you-go-along jobbie. The words have actually been following me around for a few months, but it wasn’t till I started playing about with a Csus2 tuning (CGCGCD) this afternoon that it clicked.

The words may change in due course, and the guitar part needs some polish (it’s the first time I’ve used the tuning), but this certainly gives the general idea.

Back to this sooner rather than later, I hope.

Words and music copyright David Harley, 2017.

Can’t sleep
Can’t turn her off
Can’t get her out of my head

I don’t need this jangle
In my nerves
And in my head
I don’t need
These lonely hours
Here in my weary bed
But I can’t sleep
I can’t turn her off
I can’t get her out my head

The night hours
Are bleeding away
Till the light runs away with my time
The shadow fades
And I’m so afraid
My words are refusing to rhyme
But I can’t shut her up
I can’t shut her off
I can’t get her out of my mind

I can’t pick her up
I can’t put her down
I can’t get her into my bed

I can’t shut her up
I can’t shut her down
I can’t get her out of my head

I can’t find the path
I can’t do the math
I can’t get it into my head
And I can’t break it down
I can’t break it up
I can’t get you out of my head

Copyright David Harley, 2016

 

Author: David Harley

Computer Security Author/Editor; Independent Antimalware Researcher; CEO at Small Blue-Green World; Senior Research Fellow at ESET.

Leave a Reply

